Museums And History Attractions
Call Rusty Trowbridge @ (228) 388-4400
Fax: (228) 388-7800
Beauvior - Jefferson Davis HomeFamily Fun, Museums And History
2244 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531
The seaside retirement estate of Jefferson Davis, the Confederacy's only President. The 51 acre historic complex includes the restored home and outbuildings, soldier's home cemetery, Tomb of the Unknown Confederate Soldier, and nature trails. There is a gift shop, a small exhibit museum, and picnic area on site.
Open daily Mar-Oct 9am-5pm; Nov-Feb 9am-4pm.
Call @ (228) 374-3105 or 1(800) BILOXI-3
Fax: (228) 702-0243
Biloxi LighthouseMuseums And History
1050 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, 39530
Built in 1848, the Biloxi Lighthouse is the only lighthouse in the United States to stand in the middle of a four-lane highway. Come experience this historic cast iron structure first hand by climbing to the top. Tours offered daily at 9:00, 9;15, and 9:30 am weather permitting. Purchase tickets at the Biloxi Visitors Center. Admission is $5.00 for adults and $2.00 for Children 12 and under.
Call @ 228 435-6320
Biloxi SchoonersFamily Fun, Museums And History, Tours, Water Fun
367 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39530
Take a step back in time, sail aboard a 65' two-masted gaff-rigged Biloxi Oyster Schooner. The "Glenn L. Swetman" and the "Mike Sekul" are available for day sailing or charter, weddings, dockside parties, reception, birthdays and offer two hour special educational trips for school groups. Located at the Biloxi Schooner Pier Complex, one mile east of the Beau Rivage, we offer 2.5 hr., half day or full day charters. A 2.5 hr. walk-on sail is available for individuals periodically each month. Schedule is posted on our website. Welcome to bring food and refreshments aboard.
Call @ (228) 374-3105 or 1(800)BILOXI-3
Fax: (228) 702-0243
Biloxi Visitors CenterMuseums And History
1050 Beach Boulevard, Biloxi, 39530
The Biloxi Visitors Center, located in the shadow of the Biloxi Lighthouse on U.S. 90, offers information on area attractions, events, and accommodations. The center also houses a multi-media museum of Biloxi history and a gift shop featuring a variety of unique Biloxi memorabilia. The center is open daily from 8 am to 5 pm.
Call @ (228) 435-6119
Biloxi West End Hose Company Museum and Fire Educational CenterMuseums And History
1046 Howard Avenue, Biloxi, 39530
The fire museum, located in a 1937 firehouse, tells the story of the 120 year history of the Biloxi Fire Department through memorabilia, photographs and antique firefighting equipment and serves as an educational fire prevention center for children. The museum is open Saturdays 9am to 3pm or by appointment.
Call Whitney Sumrall @ (228) 896-4276 (GCSO)
Fax: (228) 896-4618
Gulf Coast Symphony OrchestraMuseums And History
11975 Seaway Road, Suite A130 , Gulfport, MS 39503
Located in the John S. & James L. Knight NonProfit Center
A HALF-CENTURY OF EXCELLENCE...
The Gulf Coast Symphony Orchestra, formed in 1962 by Dr. James A. Graves and a number of interested community leaders, presented two concerts during its first season. Its first conductor, James Shannon, led 35 musicians in one concert each in Gulfport and Biloxi. Incorporation followed in 1965, along with a move to the Biloxi High School Auditorium. After renovation of the historic Saenger Theatre in Biloxi in 1987, the Symphony moved into its current home venue.
Following the retirement of James Shannon in 1988, Dr. Andrew Harper was selected as music director. During his 10 -year tenure, the GCSO grew to its present size of 70 professional musicians. This period brought the very successful annual fund-raiser Barbecue under the Oaks, the establishment of an office, and a change in governance from an all-volunteer Board of Directors to one with a paid...
Call Brian Alexander @ (228) 533-9025
INFINITY Science CenterFamily Fun, Museums And History
1 Discovery Circle, Stennis Space Center, MS 39529
INFINITY Science Center is the newest regional attraction to engage the next generation of explorers. Visitors will have fun exploring the farthest reaches of outer space, the uncharted depths of the oceans and the varied layers of the Earth. Visitors can also enjoy some out of this world food at the INFINITY Restaurant or buy some stellar souvenirs at the Gift Shop. We're open from 10 am to 4 pm, Monday - Saturday. Your ticket price includes a bus tour of nearby NASA Stennis Space Center where you'll get a behind-the-scenes tour of America's largest rocket engine test facility. Bus tours are on a first come, first served basis. For upcoming events please visit www.visitinfinity.com. See you in space!
Call Sonja Gillis @ (228) 897-6039
Fax: (228) 248-0071
Lynn Meadows Discovery CenterFamily Fun, Museums And History
246 Dolan Ave., Gulfport, MS 39507
Mississippi's first children's museum, where learning and laughter go hand in hand! Visitors can crank a crane, sort shrimp, tromp in tree houses, cross a creek, touch a tornado and much more. Located on six acres filled with oak trees, the Discovery Center offers two floors of indoor interactive exhibit space and outdoor play areas. Open Tues-Sat 10am-5pm and in June and July, Mon-Sat 10am-5pm.
Call @ (228)435-6244
Mardi Gras Museum/ Magnolia HotelMuseums And History
119 Rue Magnolia, Biloxi, 39530
OPENING THIS FALL
Established in 1847, the Magnolia Hotel was well known for the excellence of its cuisine and character of service. It is the only surviving antebellum hotel structure on the Mississippi Coast. Located on Rue Magnolia, it will soon be home to the Mardi Gras Museum dedicated to preserving the stories and artifacts of the century Coast celebration.
Call @ (228) 435-6320
Fax: (228) 435-6309
Maritime & Seafood Industry MuseumFamily Fun, Museums And History, Shopping, Tours
2600 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39531
The Museum was established in 1986 to preserve and interpret the maritime history and heritage of the Mississippi Gulf Coast. The Museum was destroyed by Hurricane Katrina, but have temporarily reopened at Edgewater Mall, Suite 27. Many artifacts and exhibits on display which tell a story from the time of the first Indian residents and the generations of immigrants whose journey contributed to the melting-pot culture of the Gulf Coast. We are open Monday-Saturday from 10-6 p.m. and Sunday from Noon-6 p.m. Ground was broken on the new museum in December 2012 with an opening date of May 2014. Please also see our Biloxi Schooners for additional information.
Call @ (228) 374-5547
Fax: (228) 436-3641
Ohr O'Keefe Museum of ArtMuseums And History, Shopping, Tours
386 Beach Blvd., Biloxi, MS 39530
Enjoy everything that makes the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art unique: the artists, the architecture, the history, and the landscape. Ten years in the making, the Ohr-O'Keefe Museum of Art celebrates the innovative, independent and creative spirit of namesake Mississippi potter George Ohr. Just as Ohr (1857-1918) rose from devastating personal and professional loss to create an extraordinary body of work, so too the Ohr-O'Keefe has risen from Hurricane Katrina's destruction. In a fitting tribute to Ohr, architect Frank Gehry designed an award-winning campus of bold intriguing self sufficient structures that house permanent and rotating exhibitions. The buildings and the reconstructed home of Pleasant Reed offer visitors separate but not isolated experiences - together creating a single unified vision connected by the expansive brick plaza and the majestic oaks. For our guests of all ages and interests, let the landscape be relaxing and the art inspiring, invigorating, and...
Call @ (228)435-6244
Old Brick HouseMuseums And History
622 Bayview Avenue, Biloxi, 39530
One of the oldest structures in Biloxi, the Old Brick House, which was built around 1835, overlooks the picturesque Back Bay. The house was constructed of brick made on the Back Bay. The beautifully restored house is available for tours by appointment as well as meetings and special events.
Call Mark LaSalle @ (228 )475-0825
Fax: (228) 475-0826
Pascagoula River Audubon CenterMuseums And History, Tours, Water Fun
7001 Frank Griffin Rd., Moss Point, MS 39563
The Pascagoula River Audubon Center is the gateway to the Pascagoula River, the last large free-flowing river in the contiguous United States. Visitors gain first-hand experiences through an interpreted boat tour, traveling through tidal marshes, river channels and bayous, and river swamps on an unforgettable trip through this unique waterway. Reservations required.
Call Rosemary Roosa @ (228) 872-3164
Fax: (228) 875-4494
Walter Anderson Museum of ArtFamily Fun, Museums And History, Shopping
510 Washington Ave., Ocean Springs, MS 39564
A visit to the Walter Anderson Museum of Art (WAMA), opened in 1991 in historic Ocean Springs, MS, is an enchanting and unique experience.WAMA is dedicated to the celebration of the works of Walter Inglis Anderson (1903-1965) and to his brothers, Peter Anderson (1901-1984) and James McConnell Anderson (1907-1998).
Mon-Sat 9:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Sunday 12:30-4:30 p.m.
The Museum is closed New Year's Day, Easter Sunday, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.
AAA / Military / Seniors: $8.00
Children (5-15): $5.00